Recover your (very) deleted files

Yesterday I did something stupid. Ok, that’s not the very first time it happens to me, but I believe this specific time it was something worth sharing.

My RaspberryPi did run out of space and all the files I was sharing through the attached 2TB USB hard drive were unreachable. I took the opportunity to perform a “system upgrade” I had planned for a while: run the entire system off an USB hard drive, another 350GB I had laing around.

So I hooked up the new drive and issued what I knew was an unsafe command, but without using the necessary caution:

dd if=dev/mmcblk0 of=/dev/sdc bs=4M

I realized sdc was my storage hard drive only when the process did end and I wasn’t able to access it locally… WTF!

I was speechless, my face became angry and I started looking at the wall in search of a nice spot where some red splash would have looked nice.

I started searching for backups, but I knew I had recently performed a nice cleanup recently in order to re-organize my archives.

After two hours spent in vain searching through my 4 USB hard drives I was so upset with myself I moved my storage hardrive onto Windows and formatted it NTFS.

I knew there are some tools to scan your hardrive and guess the sector contents, but I knew they would have taken ages to scan a 2TB drive attached via USB and what I would have got at the end would have probably been a bunch of sector backups with no significance…

Then I stumbled upon this super easy and super smart piece of free software called Recuva: with a few clicks and with no need for a degree in hard drive construction I was able to recover a huge amount of my files (well, I didn’t even try to recover those that got even just a sector overwritten by my smart command) and it took about 12 hours from installation to a directory full of files.

And all this after a sector by sector overwrite (dd) and a Windows fast format!!

Well, it’s not what I call an happy ending, but it’s better than nothing and it’s definitely worth sharing: don’t be stupid like me!

2 thoughts on “Recover your (very) deleted files

  1. Pingback: XBian from USB with SD fallback | The bright side

  2. Deleted files which are important for you? Then do not worry, as deleted files recovery is very much possible to restore using Remo Recover utility. This software is capable of recovering deleted files on all the latest Windows Operating System like Windows Vista, Windows 7 and Windows 8.

    Like

Leave a Reply

