Java and self signed HTTPS certificates

I encountered this problem while trying to use the Maven Cargo Plugin to deploy a WAR onto a JBoss server having it’s access restricted to HTTPS, but with a self signed certificate.

This configuration creates a set of issues you need to solve in order for this configuration to work, but I believe this same set of steps is needed in other contexts other than the Cargo Plugin and JBoss.

First part of the problem was the server name verification as the certificate used for the SSL encryption was generated referring to a different hostname then the one I’m using to access the server. As a consequence I get a hostname verification error during SSL handshake.

To fix this I decided to go for a Java agent, a library you link to your runtime environment without changing your code. The library is available on Github courtesy of  Peter Liljenberg.

Once you have the JAR you just attach it to your JRE by using the option -javaagent:<PATH_TO_JAR>: for simplicity I’ve added such option within my MAVEN_OPTS as I need that while running Maven.

set MAVEN_OPTS=-javaagent:$MAVEN_REPO\com\sparetimecoders\hostnameverifier-disabler-agent\1.0-SNAPSHOT\hostnameverifier-disabler-agent-1.0-SNAPSHOT.jar

Once this part is fixed you’ll start getting a PKIX error, signalling the certificate you are getting cannot be verified against the trusted certificates list: being the certificate I’m getting a self signed one this is not a surprise.

To add the certificate to the trusted certificates list a simple command is what you need:

keytool -import -alias server-name -file file.cer -keystore $JAVA_HOME/jre/lib/security/cacerts

When prompted, use changeit as keystore password, unless you or the system admin have customized it .

After these changes I’m now able to remotely deploy my WAR artifact on my HTTPS secured JBoss AS.

2 thoughts on “Java and self signed HTTPS certificates

    • While I do understand your security concerns regarding changing the JRE trusted certificates, I do not agree with your way of stting it should absolutely never been done.

      I’m describing what I have done on my own laptop in order to overcome a problem, I’m not suggesting this should be the way a release process should be set up.
      What the Java tool options are going to do is exactly the same result but instead of doing it for an entire JRE installation they are doing it for a specific execution: what if I have a dedicated JRE? What would be the difference?

      So, I agree with you, it’s not good practice to change the JRE trusted certs, but, as for everything, each situation must be judged by itself rather than having a generic absolute approach.

      Thanks for your comment, I appreciate your contribution.

      Like

Leave a Reply

