Raspberry PI First Hands-On

I just received my Pi and as soon as I started using it I found a few issues: nothing exceptional, but if you have got the habit to have almost everything working out of the box on your Linux boxes (due to good Linux distributions) you might have lost a little of confidence with this lower level little issues.

Keyboard

My first problem was the keyboard layout: I got an Italian keyboard but the system was setup with an English (probably UK) keyboard layout.

sudo insserv /etc/init.d/mountkernfs.sh -d
sudo dpkg-reconfigure keyboard-configuration
# select Generic 105-key (Intl) and then your keyboard layout
sudo reboot

At this point I managed to have the correct layout, but my wireless Microsoft keyboard and mouse were hitting another issue: every now and then the keyboard went crazy sending repetitive keystrokes to the Raspberry, like if I had my finger on a letter. Sadly I wasn’t able to fix this issue, not even moving the wireless dongle on a powered USB hub as per suggestions I found on the web.

While waiting to fix this issue somehow I went old school: go to the desktop PC, detach the USB keyboard and connect it to the Pi.

WiFi Dongle

Next issue was my WiFi as I was unable to connect to any WiFi with the tiny TP-Link TL-WN725N dongle I bought for my Raspberry. Apparently the issue was related to the dongle version (mine is marked as v2.0 on the box) so, after a little search on the internet and a few tries, here is what I had to do to make it show up and connect nicely to my WiFi:

Raspbian

The following is applicable if your Raspberry is running the Raspbian OS

sudo wget http://raspishop.pl/downloads/8188eu.ko-raspbian -O /lib/modules/`uname -r`/kernel/drivers/net/wireless/8188eu.ko
sudo depmod -a
sudo sed -i 's/^exit 0/modprobe 8188eu\nexit 0/' /etc/rc.local
sudo reboot
Raspbmc

If you are running Raspbmc on your Raspberry Pi then use this snippet (exact same instructions but different module binary)

sudo wget http://raspishop.pl/downloads/8188eu.ko-raspbmc -O /lib/modules/`uname -r`/kernel/drivers/net/wireless/8188eu.ko
sudo depmod -a
sudo sed -i 's/^exit 0/modprobe 8188eu\nexit 0/' /etc/rc.local
sudo reboot

After those little changes my Raspberry Pi went live and it’s nicely serving as download station and media player while I’m waiting for a few components to get delivered to my door to start some prototyping!

Leave a Reply

